Uncategorized

Doors close to better things

This time last year I had an epiphany that I did not want to become a teacher, I was scared. My three years of study I didn’t feel prepared even though I had numerous compliments from teachers about my teaching style. With no time to change studies without wasting more money, I stayed and added two minors to my degree. I also applied to Teach for America. When I got denied last December I didn’t know what I would do after graduation in May. I did what anyone else do, procrastinate. My mother hounded me and was disappointed in me for wasting 4 years of my life and money that wasn’t hers.

In procrastinating many doors closed but I was hopeful something would pop up. I went to a graduate school fair when I found a program that interests me. I applied for the wrong program, re-applied and misspelled my name. How does someone do that!? It took two months to correct. In doing so I graduated college and was now accepted into my graduate program. I wanted to share with you that doors may close behind you but that doesn’t mean your life is over. Do what you want to and not what the world wants you to. Find people that will support your dreams no matter what. You’ve got to make sure that you do things for yourself to become someone better. Always keep reaching for those stars even if you land on the moon.

A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.

–Winston S. Churchill

Leave a Reply

