Uncategorized

Luck be a Lady?

11970997_f520

I interviewed people once again this time asking them if they thought they were lucky. I interviewed 25 people. It was a close call 13 people said they considered themselves lucky and 12 said they didn’t. For both yes and no answers people mentioned karma. People said, “No, I’m not lucky because everything happens for a reason,” or “No, because I never win anything.” Some people said, “Yes, I’m lucky because of the opportunities I’ve had, thanks to karma.” Other reasons people said they are lucky because they are alive. One answer stood out to me the most and the person said, “I’m lucky in the sense that I was born into a society and family that allows me to be privileged with opportunities; however, I don’t think I’m lucky because the other good or bad things which have happened in my life occurred because I made them happen even if I wasn’t trying.” This all varies on how you choose to define luck.

Am I lucky? I’d say I am lucky. I’ve experienced what some have said a difficult life but I wouldn’t trade it for anything. I do think on the lines of karma because that is what I heard from my mother. I’ve been lucky to have a number of people help me in my life from just lending a friendly ear or even financially. They somehow helped me get to where I am today. I think I will be forever grateful for everything I will ever achieve in this world and always thanking for what I have.

“We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play them.”

–Randy Pausch

Leave a Reply

