Uncategorized

Family a key value

These past few days I’ve been spending some much needed time with my family. I’ve realized as I get older the more I cherish my brothers but I also realize the conversation changes. Once you become an adult you begin to realize everything you believed as a child aren’t true, however I am going to focus on family. A home doesn’t have to be a physical place. It is about the people you are surrounded by. My favorite moments since I’ve been home is when my two biological brothers, two nieces, and I went to Wal-Mart. It was a surreal moment for me because we are all growing up. My two brothers are now young men who are parents. When I graduated from college I had the people I care about the most watching me cross the finish line. My biological father flew out here and we reconnected our relationship. My step father (the man that raised me since I was a toddler) was there along with both biological brothers, my niece, my sister-in-law, my step brother, my mother and my second mother. That day was impeccable. What you didn’t see that day was the struggle I went through to get to that moment. I fought with my brothers and parents. That day was the first time I seen my biological father in eight years. Needless to say my family isn’t well put together.

I think family is a jewel. You shouldn’t hold grudges with each other. Yes families fight, argue, etc… however cool off a couple days and come back to each other. Solve problems and grow. You can’t let the negativity keep you from loving your brothers, sisters, parents, grandparents, etc… No matter how difficult it is try to look at the positive moments because one day they won’t be in your life anymore and you may have regrets. Just remember many people would love to have their family.

 

“You can’t give up on your family, no matter how tempting they make it. It doesn’t matter if they ahte you, or embarrass you, or simply don’t appreciate your genius…”

Rocl Riordan

Leave a Reply

