Uncategorized

Interviews: Purpose

Once again I interviewed people and all but one person responded saying that they had a purpose. Now each purpose varied just a bit but when I analyzed the answers they told a similar story. Each of the 20 people I interviewed (10 female, 10 male) wanted to be successful. They wanted to support their family, bring electricity to a third world country, impact people’s lives for the better, and preserve wild life and nature. Two answers stood out to me the most. One came from a young man that said he didn’t have a purpose nor did he care if he found one. He said that you can make your own path so what is the purpose of finding a purpose? Just live life. The other answer came from a young man as well, he said,” That we must find our own purpose and not some trend. Find our passions and turn it into something that brings purpose to our lives. For some it means that we impact others by volunteering or make sacrifices for the greater good of mankind. We must fight for what we believe in and stand for what we want instead of going with that majority. Next is accepting the difference between each other to better the world.”

Our life purpose shouldn’t be the after math because that is what is trending right now. Our purpose should include what we are passionate about. I have several passions and am never truly bored within life. I can always find something interesting to learn about. My purpose I felt at a young age which was when I was 11 years old. I donated my hair one spring break from school after seeing a commercial for locks of love. I was staying with my Godmother and asked her if she could drive me to get a haircut. She demanded I called my mom before I cut my hair and my mother said if that’s what I wanted to do she was okay with it. So from that moment on I’ve donated my hair 4 times. My purpose is to help people. I try to keep on hand some crackers, water bottles, personal hygiene items so when I am out and about and see a homeless person I can hand them a few things and hope they appreciate what I did for them. So, what is your life purpose? Leave it in the comments!

 

The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.
–Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

