Uncategorized

Who inspires you?

I interviewed 20 people and asked them who or what inspired them? and why or how did they inspire them? The results weren’t too surprising. Here are some of the responses for who or what inspires them: Steven Spielberg, Kevin Sinfeild, Steven Gerrard, Muhammad Ali, Nelson Mandela, Steve Jobs, Robin Williams, Steve Irwin, some family members. When I analyzed the reason why those people inspired them it came down to that each one of those people looked past the bad and pushed to improve the life around them. Some people mentioned that who inspired them had similar values as they did and strive to be similar in some ways. One particular answer stood out to me which has left me wondering. One person said, “What inspires me is that there is always room. Room for improvement to make a better me. I’d like to inspire others to not be sheep in the world.” This lead me into thinking about trends and how many of us are quick to jump on the band wagon because we don’t want to feel left out.
What inspires me? I’d say people that go above and beyond to help someone and people who chase after their dreams. I’m always chasing some sort of dream and once I reach it I’ve already got another dream in mind. When I started to workout I found a goal which was to run a 5k. I found two personal trainers that improved the world and that inspired me to push myself to my limits. As soon as I crossed that finish line and saw my mom I said to her, “Next year I’ll run the 10 miler.” Due to unforeseen events and me injuring myself I wasn’t able to participate in this years 10 miler race however I still have a dream of completing a marathon. Always striving for a new goal. I came across a YouTube video I thought I would share with you from America’s Got Talent. (Click America’s Got Talent to see the video). The video shows a 90 year old woman named Dorothy from Hawaii chasing after her dreams which is to be a star. Her message is inspiring. It shows that no matter how old you are you still can chase after your dreams.

When we love, we always strive to become better than we are. When we strive to become better than we are, everything around us becomes better too.

–Paulo Coelho

4 thoughts on “Who inspires you?

  1. Inspirational people I’ve never met: Bruce Lee. Inspirational people I’ve actually met: Dr. Robert Ballard. The biggest things I’ve learned from both? Can’t just think all the time because nothing will actually get done. Can’t just act all the time because nothing will get done right. Must do both.

    And on that aspect, I’d like to meet Nick Vujicic. He’s got a powerful message, despite it all.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed reading this one. I’m chasing my dreams as we speak. I always thought about it even though people around me told me to take the safe route, but I’m not happy being a sheep in the flock so I pulled away. Again, awesome post. I’m a fan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

