Uncategorized

Zoo trips

writingnatural zoo photo

As I continue to improve my photography I cannot help but to revisit past snapshots. The photo above was taken in the fall of 2012. At the time I thought nothing of the photograph until I started to edit it and realize how powerful a photograph can be. This was my second zoo visit but my first in my own city. I was excited to see all the exhibits. I was trying to get a photograph of this Gorilla and this little boy was standing in front of the glass, thus I didn’t get a great shot of just the Gorilla. The funny thing is I don’t have any of just the Gorilla because these two photos took over. This shows the separation of species. The Gorilla doesn’t seem quite happy in their sanctuary.  Since then I have visited the zoo a few times and each time I spend more and more time by the Gorilla home. The last time I went to the zoo someone dropped their phone in the orangutan cage and an orangutan had a rock in their hand and smashed the phone. The monkey species are a fascinating family. In recent news a child was murdered by a Gorilla because they somehow snuck into their habitat. I blame the parents for not keeping a better eye on their children and that the death of that Gorilla makes me sad. I think some of us forget that we put these animals in small habitats for our entertainment and to repopulate some species. You must treat these delicate creatures with respect instead of just an attraction. I mean how would you like it if you were trapped in your house all day with no blinds and no doors, and people peeped into your habitat? The photo below is a more recent photo of the Gorilla.

Writing natural photo2

 

4 thoughts on “Zoo trips

  1. I understand there is a federal law against cruelty to animals. This is a good step toward our understanding that animals are self-aware, know when they are in pain, and suffer “human only?” sadness and depression.

    Thank you for following my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

