Poetry

Storms

I’d like to share a story about my first thunderstorm I ever experienced. I was about 5 years old. My mother was working and the babysitter put a movie on to distract me and my brothers from the storm. I hear a loud noise and started to cry. I saw flashes outside the window and hid under a pillow.  Forward my life to the first thunderstorm I experienced outside of Southern California. I was shaking. The wind was strong and the rain was sideways. The power was out so I was sitting by a candle hoping the storm would pass. Now forward just a few more years to my poetry workshop class in college. Here is my work in progress poem about storms.

BOOM! Boom! Boom!
The sound beats into me,
Like stomping feet.
I close my eyes to see,
Soldiers marching along.
BOOM! BOOM! Boom!
The noise rattles my brain,
Like a little drummer boy.
Inhale. Exhale.
I open my eyes to see,
Flashes before my eyes.
BOOM! BOOM! BOOM!
The racket dances within the light,
Leaving me completely
Paralyzed.

 

This post was inspired by The Daily Post word of the day Storms.

Leave a Reply

