Uncategorized

Music ties the past to the future

Back about six years ago I was in band camp rehearsing for the upcoming football season and band competitions. We had a guest instructor to teach us different techniques about playing. He said,” Notes are just ink on a page. You have to play the notes with emotion to make it music.” Music can have moments of impacts. Yesterday a friend suggested me their current favorite band which is Clearwater Creedence Revival. At the time I had no idea what band they were. So I gave them a look on YouTube and the first song I listened to was Have You Ever Seen The Rain? This brought me straight back to my childhood. I was sitting in my step-dads Toyota truck driving down the 5 freeway on our way to his parents house. The windows were rolled down the music on loud and the sun beating on my face. The next song I listened to was Bad Moon Rising, which sent me back to that night my step dad was drinking a bit too much and blasted music. He took me by the hand and started to dance with me in the living room as my mom sat on the couch and watched. He sung along and she laughed so hard. I rarely get these images in my mind unless I have something that triggers these memories. When I hear Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen I think about my first band show I ever preformed in high school. I also think about my mother because she loves queen and on our trip to Florida Queen was the only thing we listened to on the way there and back. Music is powerful. It can help link our past to our future. I realized that I love more music with instrumental take than words. Such as Tell me by Orka, I’ll be Good by Jaymes Young, Your Hand in Mine by Explosions In The Sky. All of these take me away from the place I’m at and bring me to a place where I’m humble. Where I want to create something worth listening to. I always ask people what their favorite song is because the music they listen to tells a part about the person. Music is all around us you just have to listen to it.

What song do you listen to in order to remember your childhood? Please feel free to reply in the comment section below, I’d love to hear your music.

A wise man once said:

Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent.

–Victor Hugo

Featured Image Source

8 thoughts on “Music ties the past to the future

  1. I’m sitting at my desk just beginning to write this week’s post and now I’m thinking about music! What a lovely, personal post – music has always weaved it’s magic for me through good and bad, each time I hear the song “Desperado” by the Eagles, my heart skips a beat and I’m back at the teen hang-out dancing with a crush that I thought was out of reach!

    Liked by 1 person

      • My boyfriend is a musician so our apartment is filled with his very excellent guitar playing, I write or do my blogging when he takes his guitar and tiny amp down to the park, he plays in a beautiful oasis and often has birds singing along! I’m still happy to take some time and remember those haunting songs from an earlier time, in fact, I’m still hearing those Eagle lyrics!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Your boyfriend does what I dream of doing, sort of. I’d love to compose a piece and play it in central park. I don’t listen to music quite often anymore but the songs I do listen to usually have some sort of tie to them that transports me to the past

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The song that stands out to me the most in my history was when I was in high school. I went to a school where rap and hip hop was everything. I was ,too, a statistic and ran far away from any other genre of music, until one day, System of a Down seeped out of a friend’s car stereo and I loved it. The song is called Chop Suey. That was the track that open up my senses musically. I’m not sure why I wanted to be like everyone else and listen to one kind of music back then, but man, I was missing out. I’m much more versatile with music today 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

