Writing

Missed opportunities 

New opportunities are in front of us but perhaps we aren’t seeing all the options because we have tunnel vision. Being open minded to new things and opportunities will help you in the long run. This also will help you being less stressed and confined. Most college students believe that if they major in (for example) Psychology that you must be a psychologist. That isn’t the case at all. You can continue on your education with graduate school or find work in non-profit, entrepreneur, etc.. Don’t keep your options limited to one very specific thing. 

For me I was more worried about my after plan and not realizing the opportunities that were in my arms reach. I was fortunate to catch those opportunities just in time. My current field has nothing to do with my education degree. My previous job to an extent relates to this current position (because it is with the same department) however, it is extremely different. Now I am a professional, no one sees me as a child or teenager. I am an adult. *Side note, I now must dress in business casual and when I walk between buildings other much older people greet me with a smile and say hello in passing. As to if I was in my regular jeans and t-shirt they wouldn’t say a word to me.*

 Time is always ticking and never waits for anyone. Try those opportunities you think aren’t your typical choice, you never know what you may enjoy.

 Image Source

Learn everything you can, anytime you can, from anyone you can, there will always come a time when you will be grateful you did.

–Sarah Caldwell

5 thoughts on “Missed opportunities 

Leave a Reply

