Uncategorized

Leaving Home

There comes a point where we must leave home. I left home four years ago, to attend college. After my parent’s helped me move my stuff into my dorm room, I hugged them goodbye and watched them drive away. When I got back to my room I closed the door and the tears started to fall because I wasn’t a little girl anymore. Here I was in a new city with no friends, no family, stranded. When I visited home on the weekends I felt right at home until it was time to leave. I’d cry as I left because I didn’t want to leave. Summer vacation rolled around and I was able to spend the summer days with my niece until I went back to school which broke my heart because seeing her cry and yell my name knowing I couldn’t go back and hug her was difficult.

Leaving home taught me how to appreciate the time I have with the people in my life. Over the course of four years I was able to grow much more. I gained great friendships, a job I love, memories that I cherish, my passion, and being independent. Now when I visit home, it doesn’t feel like home. Yes my parents still live there and my brother with a new addition of my step brother to. Maybe it’s because my parent’s finally moved all my things out of my old room. They converted it to the grandchildren room with a bed for when I visit. I’ve realized I have outgrown being home. My life isn’t there any longer it is two hours west with my cats. My parents have watched me complete a 5k in my new city. I took them to see a ballet then out to eat. They see my new home. They are happy for me. Although I can hear it in their voice when I call that they miss me.

No one warned me how easy it was to walk away from home.
Image Source.

We leave something of ourselves behind when we leave a place, we stay there, even though we go away. And there are things in us that we can find again only by going back there.

— Pascal Mercier

3 thoughts on “Leaving Home

  1. Life is not about holding on to things. It is about letting go.

    I don’t remember where I heard that, but it is something that I have had to quote to myself and others a lot in the past few months. While sometimes we don’t ever want to move on from where we are now, due to our comfort zone, we will never be able to unlock God’s full plan in our lives if we stay still.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

