Poetry / The Daily Post

Waiting

I wait for
test grades,
red lights,
the microwave ding.

I wait for
the callout of lottery numbers,
the doctor’s words,
the plot twist,

I wait for
the right time to say ‘I love you’,
the time to ask for your hand,
our child’s arrival.

I wait for
adulthood,
time to stop,
the moment until we reunite.


Life is about waiting but in the moments of waiting we should enjoy everything in between. Often enough when I sit in waiting rooms I think about life inside a waiting room. We each are given a number and until that number is called we wait and experience life within that time. Somethings in life shouldn’t wait because tomorrow is not guaranteed but today is. So, what are you waiting for?

logo

One thought on “Waiting

Leave a Reply

