Life / The Daily Post / Writing

Beneath your feet

What is underground? How far does one have to dig to be underground? What Is under the underground? What story does the underground know that I don’t? I found myself in Florida for an unfortunate family gathering where I met my mother’s side of the family. All the voices I heard over the phone for years are now people. My cousin gave my brother and I a small tour of St. Augustine. As we walked I noticed bricks that were engraved with names and I was confused. Was this where people had fought and died? Was this our way to honor them?

Beneath your feet
a life was taken,
to make room for yours
yet their legacy lives on.

Flash forward to me searching for a grave on a spring day. I wondered what secrets the underground held. What happened here before this was dedicated as a memorial park. Constantly society is shaping but what story lies beneath the fabricated stores, the asphalt roads, the train tracks, what is the story? Our history is within these roots do we learn from them or pave over them in hope to bury the hatchet?

Image Source.

logo

3 thoughts on “Beneath your feet

Leave a Reply

