Life / Writing

What does it mean to be human?

I want you to answer this question in the comments below. Go ahead, I’ll wait…. I began thinking about what it means to be human in my night class. I made a list of different things I thought being human means which is below

  • Emotions
  • Memories
  • Timeline
  • Communication
  • Consciousness
  • Life
  • Perfection

Perfection is crossed out because many believe that humans should strive to be perfect. If you strive for perfection, I’m sorry if the following statement offends you; Perfection doesn’t exist. Nothing can be perfect. Yes, there are moments in life where everything seems just right or at peace, however, nothing is perfect. While all these are things we experience I felt like I was just listing item after item because we all experience these things. I cannot speak for another species, but when I’m stressed, upset, or scared my cat seems to come to the rescue. That’s beside the point. I was sitting in my boss’ office for our weekly meeting starring at the tree outside as most of its leaves have fallen.

Being human means living. As we live we gain experience both good and bad that lead us further down our timeline. Some experiences were by choice others were not. We must make do with what we have, but always strive for a better version of you; there is always room for improvement.

So, what do you think being human means? Do you agree or disagree with me? Let’s start a conversation.

Image Source.

logo

3 thoughts on “What does it mean to be human?

Leave a Reply

