Writing

Fiction: Scenary

What many of you may not know is that I’ve dipped my hand in a few fiction pieces before. Fiction for me can be quite difficult because of the process. I’d like to get back into it. Perhaps maybe start doing Flash Fiction challenges on a Friday. Let me know in the poll people. Today, I wanted to share with you a piece where I focused on scenery. 

This is where I hear the mountain’s sing as the sun lifts above their peaks, the dew wraps the blades of glass in the valley. The deep lake below our log cabin is stiller as the fog hovers above the water soon to be kissed by the sun rays. Clouds scatter above the blue-orange sky leaving my eyes to melt. I stand on the deck with unpainted toes and my dark-roasted Cuban coffee in my hand. My skin tingles with the slightest touch of her against my legs. An abandoned calico cat finds her way onto the deck each morning. I told myself I wouldn’t feed her but here I am giving her my toast.

“My what a view. I can’t believe its been two years since I’ve been here,” a familiar voice said.

I turned, dropping my coffee on the deck. It was the winter of 2001 when I last saw those boots. It’s now spring time and momma said he wouldn’t be back until late winter. He took off his cap to reveal his buzzed hair, just as I remember. There stands a tall, scrawny man dressed in desert camo with the look of despair upon his face as if he has seen more than his age is worth. I run across the deck and give him the tightest hug I could.

“I was just thinking about when we were kids and how we spent hours on the lake. Welcome back big brother. Mother said you weren’t supposed to be home until late December.”

He embraced my hug squeezing the life out of me just like he always had. After two years of writing letters, short calls, and countless care packages, my best friend returned home. He release me from his grip and walked towards the edge of the deck picking up the cat.

He said, “When did you get a cat?”

“I fed her once and she stayed ever since. Her name is Alora.”

We both stood petting the cat while we watched the sunrise over the mountain.

Image Source.

logo

Leave a Reply

