The Daily Post / The Daily Post Writing / Writing

To Each Their Own Culture

All throughout school, every morning we would stand and recite The Pledge of Allegiance a song that was created in 1892. Can you believe it? Nearly 124 years later and the song is still prevalent, although many believe that schools are brainwashing their children sort of like a cult. The song is a part of our culture along with our flag. Every city I visit, I try to find the American flag to snap a photo of it. I believe that is the only culture America has is the flag and the traditional songs ranging from The Pledege of Allegiance, The National Anthem (which is played at most sporting events), America the Beautiful, etc… We show our patriotism, not saying that other countries don’t.

To each community has its own culture. My hometown had a huge influence from the Spanish community mostly people from Mexico. They brought with them their culture and most of all food. My mother’s boss brought their culture with them from Sir Lanka. Her coworkers brought their culture with them from Russia, Somalia, Egypt, Mexico, etc… The great thing about living in my hometown is the diverse people I was able to meet. My second grade teacher was Native American, how cool is that?! Her and my mother became friends outside of school and she invited us over to her home and let me inside a tipi (teepee). How neat is that!?!

Being able to experience and respect other’s cultures is what living should really be about. It is easier said than done I’m sure because many people have xenophobia (which is also the word of the year).

Take a closer look at the image below (which is the featured image). Notice to the left of it a golden arch. Yep, I believe that is also what American Culture is about quick and simple.
10734065_10204234933605913_5709463936872703053_n

2 thoughts on “To Each Their Own Culture

    • If you are in a foreign country visit you merely are looking in, therefore you should respect the culture despite these things that you may not agree with. If you are in your native country, I suggest finding something worthy to respect within that culture. In recent days with Trump winning President, I won’t partake in the movement ‘not my president.’ Instead I find something worthy of my time and respect which is volunteering at local homeless shelters, mentoring youth, or spending time with our troops. I hope this sheds a bit more light.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

