Life Poems / The Daily Post Poetry

Small Child

You stole my heart,
the moment I first
held you in my
arms.

Remember when we
played peek-a-boo
during those
long car rides.

Remember when I
had to leave for
school.
You’d cling to
my leg crying
and begging me
not to go.

I used to cry
once I got in
the car because
I didn’t want to
leave you.

You taught me,
how much love
one person
can have for
another.


When I read cling I immediately thought of my niece holding on to me for dear life every time I had to leave to go back to school. The featured image is a photo of us taken three years ago. She is now 6 years old.

2 thoughts on “Small Child

Leave a Reply

