Life Poems / Poetry

My Tune

The room grows dark
velvet curtains are drawn,
the crowd awaits.
A light shines down,
hitting me like
sun rays through a window.
Each breathe of air
turns into rhythmic notes,
cascading from the bell
of my golden saxophone.
Jazz fills the empty space
throughout the room.
The room grows dark
velvet curtains are drawn,
the crowd applauds
the sound of my sax.

I played the saxophone for 7 years. I was in marching band, jazz band, and a wind assemble. Playing for 7 years has given me a passion for music in my life. If I could tell myself one thing it would be to not give up playing.

2 thoughts on “My Tune

  1. A funny thing about instruments or anything that takes practice to learn, is that when it is all said and done no one looks back and says, “Wow, that took a lot of hours of my life away. I wish I hadn’t spend one hour a day practicing.” Instead we look forward with our new skill, and see how we can use it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

