Life / Writing

Dear Mom,

Dear Mom,

As the years pass by, I have realized how lucky I am to have a mother like you. From the day you discovered you were having a child to this moment, you’ve done nothing but support me. You’ve worked hard to make sure I had the things I needed. Granted, there were times where I heard you cry on the phone begging for more time and I couldn’t do anything to help. Some how you always made life work, I will never understand how you did it.

Our life wasn’t easy, you strived to move us from your car and the homeless shelters to a stable home. I watched you open your doors for people in need, which taught me to be selfless when I can. My first Easter away from home as well as my first pay check, I visited a local fast food restaurant where I seen a homeless woman sitting alone not eating. The restaurant was packed with many people in their Easter day clothes. I bought that woman a meal before I ate my food. I thought of all the times I was lucky because someone gave us food, mom I paid it forward.

You always held my dreams for me, even when I decided I didn’t want to be a teacher. You were upset because I was so close to the finish line and uncertain about my future. But somehow you knew that everything would be okay. I found a Master program that I enjoy more than anything.

Mom I know life hasn’t always treated us fairly, but you taught me to make do with what you have because it could always be worse. I wasn’t always happy that we had to go to the laundry mat early in the morning or that we visited local food banks. Over the years you gave me the skills I needed in order to be self sufficient. You showed me the importance of keeping a house clean. You taught me how to cook food without burning it (minus fried chicken but we won’t talk about that).

I want to apologize for the years I pushed you away because I was embarrassed by you. I want to apologize for those days where I threw a tantrum because I didn’t get my way. I want to apologize for crying because you were brushing my hair. I want to thank you for teaching me how to cook a feast, how to enjoy what I have, how to love, how to appreciate the flowers we planted, how to chase after my dreams. Remember that day you said goodbye and left me in my dorm room for the first time? I cried because I left the nest. You were now a phone call and almost two hundred miles away. Yet, you taught me that everything would be okay.

Mom you gave me more than life. You showed me how to be compassionate, open minded, positive, grateful, and most of all to never give up on my dreams. That is something I can never repay you for. I can only hope to make you proud of the person I continue to become. Happy Early Mother’s Day.

Love,
Your only Daughter.

One thought on “Dear Mom,

Leave a Reply

